Skip to content

Thursday 14th September 2023
The Lowry Hotel, Manchester

COMBA celebrates the best of Manchester businesses

Downtown in Business rewarded the leading businesses and business personalities from across Manchester at the latest City of Manchester Business Awards.

Over 250 of the city’s leading business personalitites gathered at The Lowry Hotel to celebrate the achievevements of the city’s business community.

The awards, hosted by Downtown boss Frank McKenna, gave away gongs in fifteen categories to companies and individuals that have made a successful and significant contribution to economic growth in the city region.

Big winners on the evening included, Tom Higgins from Laing O’Rourke, Yvonne Harrison from Women in Football, Dakota Hotel and Co-operative UK, who won the Tony Award, Chair’s Award, Chief Executive’s Award and Business of the Year respectively.

Downtown CEO and Group Chairman, Frank McKenna commented; “As always, #COMBA was a superb evening celebrating the fantastic business community in Manchester.

“I would like to say well done to all of the nominees, as they are what makes Manchester tick, and of course congratulations to the winners.

“A big thank you to all of our sponsors on the evening and to The Lowry Hotel for hosting the evening. I look forward to seeing every at #COMBA24.”


BDM/Salesperson of the Year 2023

Ruth Pollitt, INNSiDE by Meliá

Newcomer of the Year 2023


Legal Firm of the Year 2023

Mills and Reeve

Marketing, Creative and Digital Agency of the Year 2023

Dawn Creative

Hotel of the Year 2023

Hyatt Regency

Restaurant/Bar of the Year 2023


Architect & Property Services Company of the Year 2023


Financial Services Firm of the Year 2023

Williamson & Croft

Developer of the Year 2023


Contractor of the Year 2023

Krol Corlett Construction

Employer of the Year 2023

Mansell Building Solutions

Business of the Year 2023

Co-operatives UK

Tony Award 2023

Tom Higgins, Laing O’Rourke

Chair's Award 2023

Dakota Hotel

Chief Executive's Award 2023

Yvonne Harrison, Women in Football